Vote For NZ’s Favourite Sporting Moment

Choose from eleven 2017 highlights

The Halberg Foundation has announced eleven sporting highlights for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of 2017. This is the one category in the Halberg Awards that the public chooses.

The sporting moment award gives the New Zealand public the opportunity to choose the nation’s most exciting, remarkable, or compelling sporting moment, game or series in 2017. 

The highlights include moments from cricket, tennis, rugby, yachting, softball, athletics, canoe racing and motor racing.

And the finalists are:

  1. Grand slam champion(s)

    Martin Guptill smashes 11 sixes to give the Black Caps a seven wicket ODI win. (Black Caps vs. South Africa, Hamilton)

  2. Mitchell Hunt drops a stunning last minute drop goal securing the win for the Crusaders during the Super Rugby season.  (Crusaders vs. Highlanders, Christchurch)
  3. Michael Venus wins the French Open men’s doubles final to become the first New Zealand male Grand Slam champion since 1974. (French Open, Paris)
  4. Black Ferns Sevens win the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series. (Black Ferns Sevens vs. Australia, Clermont-Ferrand)
  5. Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber at Le Mans

    Emirates Team New Zealand win the America’s Cup.(Emirates Team New Zealand vs. Oracle Team USA, Bermuda)

  6. Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamberwin the Le Mans 24 hour race.(Le Mans, France)
  7. Black Sox win the World Softball Championships title for the seventh time. (Black Sox vs. Australia, Canada)
  8. Tom Walsh wins the shot put gold medal to become the first New Zealand male to win an IAAF track and field championship. (IAFF World Track and Field Championships, London)
  9. Black Ferns win the Women’s Rugby World Cup for the fifth time. (Black Ferns vs. England, Belfast)
  10. World Champion Black Ferns

    Lisa Carrington wins the K1 200m gold medal for the fifth time at the World Canoe Sprint Championships.(World Canoe Sprint Championships, Czech Republic)

  11. Ross Taylor achieves a record equalling 17 test centuries with the Black Caps in the second test against the West Indies. (Blackcaps vs. West Indies, Hamilton)

The public can vote for their choice once a day by text message or online at  The winner will be presented at the 55th Halberg Awards on Thursday 8 February at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT from 8pm.

2017 provided many exciting moments for the passionate New Zealand sporting public and now it’s their opportunity to have a say on who gets the honours,” says Shelley McMeeken, Chief Executive of the Halberg Foundation.

Everyone who votes for the Sporting Moment by 28 January 2018 goes in the draw to win a trip for two including flights and accommodation to the 55th Halberg Awards at Spark Arena, Auckland on Thursday 8 February 2018.   Visit to read the competition terms & conditions.

How to vote

Voting is now open for the Sporting Moment of the Year award.  You can vote once from now on until 9.00pm on Thursday 8 February 2018, vote either online or by text.

  1. Online

Vote at

  1. TXT

Text your Sporting Moment’s unique code to 556:

  1. Txt SM1 to 556 to vote for Martin Guptill
  2. Txt SM2 to 556 to vote for Mitchell Hunt
  3. Txt SM3 to 556 to vote for Michael Venus
  4. Txt SM4 to 556 to vote for Black Ferns Sevens
  5. Txt SM5 to 556 to vote for Emirates Team New Zealand
  6. Txt SM6 to 556 to vote for Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber
  7. Txt SM7 to 556 to vote for Black Sox
  8. Txt SM8 to 556 to vote for Tom Walsh
  9. Txt SM9 to 556 to vote for Black Ferns
  10. Txt SM10 to 556 to vote for Lisa Carrington
  11. Txt SM11 to 556 to vote for Ross Taylor