Five Candidates Jostle For Two Seats On Waikanae Board

Five people have been nominated for just two seats in the Waikanae Community Board by-election — and they’re now getting their campaigns under way.

Kāpiti Coast District Council Electoral Officer Katrina Shieffelbein says at the close off at midday on Friday, 11 September, she had received nominations for these candidates. ·

Tonchi Begovich ·

Eric Gregory ·

Katherine Kelly ·

Richard Mansell ·

Nu Taramai

Two of four elected board memebrs pulling out

The by-election has been caused by two board members pulling out.

Last month Geoffrey Churchman resigned following a row over a satirical article in his blog, Waikanae Watch.

Then the deputy chair of the Board, Jill Griggs, advised her intention to resign from the Community Board from 18 September 2020.

Katrina Shieffelbein says: “I would like to thank all nominees and candidates for taking the step to get involved in local government.

“Community Boards play an important role in our democracy and it is heartening to see healthy interest in representing Waikanae.”

Visit for more information.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.