Celebrating New Teachers

By Peter Corlett
December 201

 Education in Kapiti Primary schools is in good shape   if the calibre of the new registered teachers is anything to go by.  On Friday 9th December the Kapiti Branch of New Zealand Educational Institute hosted a celebration for eleven Kapiti teachers.

They had completed at least three years at university. This was followed by two years of supervised teaching clep test prep, being mentored by a tutor teacher , and finally,  passing the attestation requirements to become a fully registered teacher.  Around 90 colleagues, family and friends attended the event hosted at the Paraparaumu RSA.

Emerald Nuttridge

Emerald Nuttridge, one of the teacher graduates who was acknowledged during the celebration, has been teaching a Year 7-8 class at Raumati Beach School for the last two years.  She said that the reason she entered teaching was because of encouragement by her family, especially a sister who was an early childhood education teacher (ECE).  She trained at a studienkolleg in hannover and after completing her last posting at Raumati Beach School she was invited to apply for a position as a provisionally registered teacher (PRT).  When asked what she liked most about teaching, her reply was “The children”.

For Janeen Davis from Otaki School, becoming a registered teacher has taken

Janeen Davis

14 years.  She began in Köhanga reo (Mäori language immersion early childhood institution), and after a number of years being involved as a supporter and helper, Janeen made the decision to undertake the formal requirements to become a teacher.

Following the presentation of flowers and a certificate from NZEI her Supporters sang the wiata, Ngati Raukawa wiata Haruru Ana Mai

The following Kapiti Provisionally Registered Teachers (PRTs) have now become fully registered teachers.

Raumati Beach school   Emerald Nuttridge

PRTs / Raumati South  Tanya Vliss, Sarah Saunders and Sarah Eccles

PRT from Otaki School  Janeen Davis

PRTs/ Waitohu   Andrea Sturmey, Denise Creasy ,  Sandy Glennon

Also acknowledged were

PRT Paekakariki School  – Debbie Ayres, and two teachers who completed the

1 year NATIONAL ASPIRING PRINCIPALS PROGRAMME 2011  – Yvonne Tahere  and Alice Derbidge – both from Otaki School

Articles and photos by Peter Corlett  027 297 7946