Final result For Kāpiti Council Poll Confirms First Results

Kāpiti Coast Council election results have been declared today — and there are no changes from the provisional results last weekend.

So K Gurunathan returns as Mayor, but with a Council table featuring six new faces — Gwynn Compton, Rob McCann, Jocelyn Prvanov, Martin Halliday, Bernie Randall, and Sophie Handford.

The new Council for the 2019-2022 triennium officially comes into office next Tuesday, 22 October, with their inauguration to be held at the end of the month.

45% turn-out

Electoral Officer, Katrina Shieffelbein says just over 45% of eligible Kāpiti voters returned their vote with 449 special votes returned.

“There was a significant influx of votes in the final three days leading up to the voting deadline at midday on 12 October,” she says.

“Our total voter turnout, including special votes, was 18,343.”

Councillors and community board members for the triennium are:


K (Guru) Gurunathan

Districtwide Councillors

Angela Buswell

Gwynn Compton

Jackie Elliott

Janet Holborow

Rob McCann

Ōtaki Ward Councillor 

James Cootes

Waikanae Ward Councillor

Jocelyn Prvanov

Paraparaumu Ward Councillors

Martin Halliday

Bernie Randall

Paekākāriki-Raumati Ward Councillor 

Sophie Handford

Ōtaki Community Board members

Stephen Carkeek

Chris Papps

Marilyn Stevens

Shelly Warwick

Waikanae Community Board members

Geoffrey Churchman

Jill Griggs

Margaret Stevenson-Wright

James Westbury

Paraparaumu-Raumati Community Board members

Jonny Best

Guy P. Burns

Grace Lindsay

Kathy Spiers

Paekakariki Community Board

Holly Ewens

Jess Hortop

Dan O’Connell

Tina Pope

Isnt it a good result to see some young and younger people representing the community as well as some older returning members.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.